South CarolinaIn the city of Columbia, SC, the laws are the same as the laws in the entire state of South Carolina when involved in a car accident. Columbia follows an at fault system where the person at fault of the accident pays for all of the damages with his insurance. The three ways to file a claim if you are not at fault is to:
  1. File a claim with your own insurance and they will try to recover from the at fault driver’s insurance.
  2. File a third party claim with the insurance of the at fault driver.
  3. File a personal injury lawsuit against the at fault driver. The best ways to determine who was at fault is to take pictures, statements of witnesses, and damage to property.
South Carolina requires minimum insurance of $25,000 for injury or death, $50,000 for a single accident, and $25,000 for vehicle or property damage. Columbia uses modified comparative negligence which means if you are found to be less than 50% at fault you will receive a portion of the money depending on how much you are at fault.

If you need South Carolina car insurance call 478-788-9188 for a quote.

Share |

No Comments

Post a Comment
Required (Not Displayed)

All comments are moderated and stripped of HTML.
Submission Validation
Change the CAPTCHA codeSpeak the CAPTCHA code
Enter the Validation Code from above.
NOTICE: This blog and website are made available by the publisher for educational and informational purposes only. It is not be used as a substitute for competent insurance, legal, or tax advice from a licensed professional in your state. By using this blog site you understand that there is no broker client relationship between you and the blog and website publisher.
Blog Archive
  • 2019
  • 2018
  • 2017
  • 2016
  • 2015
  • 2014
  • 2013

View Mobile Version